Staff Picks

tel:  (845) 534-8282
fax: (845) 534-3827
e-mail: cor@rcls.org
director: kfels@rcls.org


SPRING 2013

Eileen Kieva
Audio BookCity of Women by David Gillham—For fans of A Reliable Wife and Those Who Save Us a steamy novel about a seemingly perfect Nazi soldier’s wife and her clandestine life.
Audio Book—The Innocent by David Baldacci—America has enemies--ruthless people that the police, the FBI, even the military can’t stop. That’s when the U.S. government calls on Will Robie, a stone cold hitman who never questions orders and always nails his target. But Will Robie may have just made the first--and last--mistake of his career.
The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult—In this searingly honest novel, Jodi Picoult gracefully explores the lengths we will go in order to protect our families and to keep the past from dictating the future.
DVD—Robot & Frank—Frank is an aging ex-jewel thief, and his two grown children are worried that he can no longer care for himself. In deciding what to do with Frank, the most likely option appears to be putting him in a nursing home. But Frank’s son comes up with another option: buy Frank a walking, talking robot programmed to look after him and improve his physical and mental health. Frank resists the robot at first, but he warms to it after realizing that it could be the perfect heist companion.

Rebecca Kashinski
The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes—A sophisticated, page-turning double love story spanning forty years-an unforgettable Brief Encounter for our times. A spellbinding, intoxicating love story with a knockout ending, The Last Letter from Your Lover will appeal to the readers who have made One Day and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society bestsellers.
The Dressmaker by Kate Alcott—The story of an aspiring seamstress sailing aboard the Titanic as maid to Lady Lucille Duff Gordon, who both survive the tragedy. Her heart is torn between a wealthy businessman and a sailor and she must decide wherein lies her destiny . . .

Maria Soltis
Born On A Blue Day: Inside the Extraordinary Mind of an Autistic Savant by Daniel Tammet—Born on a Blue Day is a journey into one of the most fascinating minds alive today—guided by the owner himself. Daniel Tammet is virtually unique among people who have severe autistic disorders in that he is capable of living a fully independent life and able to explain what is happening inside his head. Fascinating and inspiring, Born on a Blue Day explores what it’s like to be special and gives us an insight into what makes us all human—our minds.

Susan Moccio
DVD—Parental Guidance starring Bette Midler and Billy Crystal—Laughter is relative in this hilarious comedy that’s fun for the whole family! Old-school grandparents Artie (Crystal) and Diane (Midler) get more than they bargained for when they get stuck babysitting their type-A daughter’s (Marissa Tomei) overprotected kids. But things go from hectic to hysterical when Artie realizes the kids are running the house with their newfangled technology. Playing by his rules that include sugary snacks, old fashioned games and tough love, Artie manages to outsmart the kids and achieve the impossible—bring the family closer together!

Pam Hawks
Tenth of December by George Saunders—One of the most important and blazingly original writers of his generation, George Saunders is an undisputed master of the short story. The Tenth of December is his most honest, accessible, and moving collection of stories yet.

Mary Ellen Malone
New DVDs—Sentimental Serenity: Video Portraits of Nature’s Wonders
• Journey Five – Scenes from the Mountain West
• Journey Six – Scenes from the Great Plains
• Journey Seven – Scenes from the Gulf Coast
Wonderful videos for the armchair traveler, and a great way to see some of nature’s most beautiful wonders throughout our country. Journeys One through Four are already part of the library’s DVD collection.

Ellen Winchell
A Week in Winter by Maeve Binchy—“The grand story teller” returns with a cast of characters you will never forget when they all spend a winter week together on holiday at Stone House, a restful inn by the sea . . . (Title also available in Audio Book format)

Charlotte Dunaief
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. . . a lovely novel, in letters, about the not-so-lovely German Occupation. It’s been a while since I made friends with characters in a book – I want to go back in time to meet them all. Thank you, Marie & Lisa, for recommending this book!
By James Dasher . . .
YA—The Maze Runner; The Scorch Trials; The Death Cure; The Kill Order (prequel to the above trilogy) - YA dystopian literature that’s of the same caliber as The Hunger Games. I don’t know why they’re not as popular.

Dean Satterly
City of God by Beverly Swerling—The saga of the Turner and Devrey families continues in this captivating historical epic set in New York City during the years before the Civil War--an era of corrupt Tammany Hall politicians, evangelical preachers, millionaire entrepreneurs, opium smokers, and immigrants. This is the fourth volume in Swerling’s engrossing series.

Marie Clark
Paw Prints in the Moonlight by Denis O’Connor—The heartwarming true story of one man and his cat.
Biography—Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake by Anna Quindlen—In this irresistible memoir, the New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Pulitzer Prize writes about looking back and ahead--and celebrating it all—as she considers marriage, girlfriends, our mothers, faith, loss, all the stuff in our closets, and more.

Rebecca Barth
Picture Book—Mrs. McBloom, Clean Up Your Classroom by Kelly Dipucchio, illustrated by Guy Francis—They say that a little mess is a sign of genius, and if this is the case, kids in Room Five are being led by a teacher with the intellectual caliber of Einstein. Her accumulation of instructional materials have inspired twenty two janitors to grumble, “Mrs. McBroom, clean up your classroom!” And Mrs. McBloom has planned to...see, it’s right there on her to-do list, before “take a fancy-shmancy cruise.” But with retirement looming, in true veteran fashion, she entrusts her students with finding a solution.
Picture Book—If I Built a Car by Chris Van Dusen—If I built a car, it’d be totally new! Here are a few of the things that I’d do. . . Jack has designed the ultimate fantasy car. Inspired by zeppelins and trains, Cadillacs and old planes, with brilliant colors and lots of shiny chrome, this far-out vision is ready to cruise! There’s a fireplace, a pool, and even a snack bar! After a tour of the ritzy interior, Robert the robot starts up the motor, and Jack and his dad set off on the wildest test drive ever!

Liz Fisher
Picture Book—Rabbityness by Jo Empson—Rabbit enjoys doing rabbity things, but he also loves un-rabbity things! When Rabbit suddenly disappears, no one knows where he has gone. His friends are desolate. But, as it turns out, Rabbit has left behind some very special gifts for them, to help them discover their own unrabbity talents! Rabbityness celebrates individuality, encourages the creativity in everyone and positively introduces children to dealing with loss of any kind.
Picture Book—I’m Bored by Michael Ian Black, Illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi—Just when a little girl thinks she couldn’t possibly be more bored, she stumbles upon a potato who turns the tables on her by declaring that children are boring. But this girl isn’t going to let a vegetable tell her what’s what, so she sets out to show the unimpressed potato all the amazing things kids can do. Too bad the potato is not interested . . .

Joni Armstrong
Children’s—Ungifted by Gordon Korman—The word gifted has never been applied to a kid like Donovan Curtis. It’s usually more like Don’t try this at home. So when the troublemaker pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he’s finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction (ASD), a special program for gifted and talented students.
Children’s—Capture the Flag by Kate Messner—A stolen flag, a secret society, and three total strangers . . .
Children’s—Stick Dog by Tom Watson—Stick Dog and his four friends will do anything to steal some sweet-smelling hamburgers from a family at Picasso Park!